The Archaeological Museum of Aegina was established in 1828 by Ioannis Kapodistrias, the first governor of the Greek State. In fact, it was created with the contribution of the historian and scholar Andreas Moustoxidis. At first, it was housed in a Neoclassical building in the centre of Aegina Town but in 1980, it was moved in a modern building near the archaeological site of Kolona, which is what's left from the ancient temple of Apollo.
The Archaeological Museum of Aegina houses findings from all ancient sites on the island, including Kolona, the temple of Athena Aphaia, the sanctuary of Ellanios Zeus and other sites of less importance. Visitors can see parts of ancient columns, funerary styles, old vases with interesting depictions, archaic inscriptions and marble statues.